Municipality - Discover
Saint-Anicet is a parish municipality located in the Haut-Saint-Laurent regional county municipality and the Montérégie administrative region, occupying an area of 136.25 sq. km. It can be found at the South West of the St. Lawrence River, on the south shore of the Lake Saint-François, at 110 km from Montreal and close to the American border.
Agriculture and tourism are the main poles of economic development of the Anicetois(es) and hundreds of vacationers settle along the Lake Saint-François every summer.
The many summer vacationers and visitors can relax on the beach of the Jules-Léger historical park.
Nothing beats a visit to the interpretation centre of the Droulers/Tsiionhiakwatha archeological site and the Saint-Anicet Church to learn more on the history of the Municipality. It is also interesting to go to the neighbouring Municipality of Dundee to tour the Lake Saint-François National Wildlife Area, and the oldest covered bridge in Canada between the cities of Elgin and Hinchinbrooke. Nature in its purest form is an asset here and you can discover it at the Latreille Ecological Stewardship Centre!
This history of our land begins in 1788 with the surveying of the territory of the township of Godmanchester, but it is only between 1789 and 1791 that the first small agglomeration called Cazaville was founded with the settling of Jean-Baptiste Lebeau, said Beaufils and Caza.
In 1795, colonizers from Acadie settled on the territory and founded the Saint-Anicet mission by opening parish registers. The name Saint-Anicet was chosen to pay homage to Pope Saint Anicet, who became pope in 155 and died a martyr in 166.
On May 10, 1811, the Godmanchester County was proclaimed and it is only in 1820 that a second agglomeration called La Guerre was formed when the Catholic Irish arrived. The name La Guerre, which is still the river’s name, comes from François Benoît de La Guerre and not, as some may think, Iroquois wars.
On May 26, 1827, there is a canonical erection at the Saint-Anicet-de-Godmanchester and its territory will cover part of the Godmanchester County. Then, the abridged form “Saint-Anicet” will be used by its inhabitants.
On June 8, 1845, the parish municipality of Saint-Anicet is constituted and will be abolished on September 1, 1847, but nothing is lost, as it will officially be constituted on July 1, 1855, with the election of the first mayor, John McDonell, Esq. (1855-1858).
On August 7, 1988, city hall was inaugurated under the honorary presidency of His Eminence, the Cardinal Paul-Émile Léger and Madam Gabrielle Léger.
The population of the parish is of 1,411 inhabitants in 1923, and grows to 2,617 inhabitants in 2000, then 2,697 Anicetois and Anicetoises in 2008.
The history of Saint-Anicet is also the prominent names, like Jules Léger (Governor General of Canada from 1974 to 1979), born in Saint-Anicet in 1913, deceased in 1980, and his brother, His Eminence, the Cardinal Paul-Émile Léger, born in 1904 and deceased in 1991.
The Municipality adopts the current flag in 1986, with its three symbolic colours and our coat of arms. It brings together tourism, agriculture, joy of living, and the three founding nations of Saint-Anicet: the Irish, the Scottish and the French.
You cannot miss the historical locations, such as the Saint-Anicet Church, located at 225 de la Fabrique Avenue, which was built in 1887, and the Saint-Jeanne D’Arc Chapel, at 265, 5th Avenue.
For more information on the history of Saint-Anicet and its historical buildings, visit the Société historique de Saint-Anicet’s website.
To reach Saint-Anicet from Montreal, follow the instructions below: